Rassweiler Jens

Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. mult. Jens Rassweiler FRCS (Glasgow)

Chair of Faculty of Urology and Andrology

Prof. Rassweiler started his Urological Education 1982 at Katharinenhospital Stuttgart. From 1988 to 1994 he was Vice-chair of the Department of Urology Medical School Mannheim). He was involved in the clinical introduction of extracorporeal shock wave lithotripsy including three generations of lithotripters. 1992 he was the first German Urologist to perform a laparoscopic nephrectomy.


1994 he became Chairman of the Department of Urology and Pediatric Urology at SLK Kliniken Heilbronn, University of Heidelberg. 2009 he organized the World Congress of Endourology.  Since 2010 he is president of the German Lithotripsy Society and since 2016 the Chairman of the Section Office of European Association of Urology (EAU). 2019 he was president of the Endourology Society. In 2019 he organized the Meeting of the International Society of Minially invasive Therapy (iSMIT). 2020 he was president of the German Society of Urology (DGU).

He received several Awards including the Hans Marberger Award of EAU, the Felix Martin Oberländer Award, 2014 the Ritter von Frisch-Award of DGU, 2015 the Ralph Clayman Mentor Award of the Endourology Society, and 2016 the Gustav Simon Medal of the SWDGU. He is honorary member of several Urological Societies in the world. He is Doctor honoris causa (Dr. h.c.) of the Universities Timisoara (2009), Cluj-Napoca (2013) and Bucharest (2017). 2018 he became Fellow of Royal College of Surgeons in Glasgow (FRCS). 2022 he was elected as chair of the faculty of Urology and Andrology of the Danube Private University in Krems, Austria.